A few days ago, researchers have made important discoveries, using an underground map, which is considered by the archeologists, the most detailed ever, representing the Neolithic monument and its surroundings, showing precisely that the famous monument was not a single building, being accompanied by 17 sanctuaries.
Let us remember that Stonehenge is one of the most famous and mysterious megalithic monuments in the world, dating from 3100 until 1600 BC. Stonehenge name comes from an old Anglo-Saxon word with the meaning of 'hanging stones’. The monument was built in 3 stages.
In the first stage, there was a circular building from the ground, measuring about 90 meters in diameter, surrounded by a ditch, a short distance from it, a ring with 56 holes, where they were installed the same number of wooden columns. The holes are known as the ‘Aubrey Holes’, named after the person who first described them in 1666.
Around 2550 BC, in the second stage, the stones appeared and they were called 'blue stones', being the smallest stones of this area, despite the fact that each of them weighs 5 tons. It is supposed to have been transported by sea, then up the River Avon, and finally on the ground. Around 2100 BC, Stonehenge began to look like it is today, consisting of megaliths, each weighing about 30 tons, assuming that they were brought from the hills of Marlborough, from 30 miles away. These blocks from Eocene epoch, are called 'sarsen', a word meaning the 'stranger' in the old language of Wessex.
The farthest part of Stonehenge is an area about 600 feet long, with a ditch on each side, running parallel at a distance of over 20 meters of each other. The passageway is leading to the Heel Stone that protects with its shadow exactly the center of the site, during the summer solstice. Furthermore, the access road is leading to the circular ground construction. At the entrance is the Stone of Sacrifice, whose name comes from the red marks on the stone, the iron that was 'melted' by the rain over millennia.
From here, you can see the central part of the monument, consisting of concentric megalithic structures. The outer circle is composed of 30 ‘sarsen’ stones of which 17 are still in the original place, having a height of 4 meters, being connected. Three meters away from the circle, there is another ring, this time consisting of 60 blue stones, many of them falling and breaking it, with a height of about 2 meters. In the center of the two, there is a massive horseshoe-shaped structure, which today is incomplete, consisting of 5 pillars, each having two upright stones supporting the 3rd stone that rests horizontally across them. Although there is not a drainage system, typical of other shrines built elsewhere, there is a horseshoe built more modest, consisting of blue stones surrounding the so-called Altar Stone, in the center.
A complex underground project, mapping of the area around Stonehenge - called Stonehenge Hidden Landscapes Project, is made since 4 years ago, in cooperation with Ludwig Boltzmann Institute in Vienna and the University of Birmingham. With the help of special radars have came out many interesting things such as 17 monuments which no one knew anything and the fact that a number of them are astronomically aligned with Stonehenge, evidence that were not built haphazardly, but after extensive calculations.